SAL Update!!!

Ok so santa’s face was a pain in the *%# but I finally got through the page. There are two colours that I ran out of half way through and so now I have to wait for them to come before I can finish that page. So instead of waiting (because I have no patience at all) I have moved on to the last couple pages for this top row.

As for having to replace the threads it’s not the end of the world although a little annoying because I have learned that those last few stitches on a page really do make all the difference when “pulling it together” as a whole picture.

Years before this project was even on the horizon. And when Walmart actually had a half decent craft selection (don’t even get me started on this topic!) I went and bought the entire collection of Anchor floss. The poor girl at the checkout…. I will never forget the look on her face when she realized that they all had different UPC codes so would have to be scanned individually. Sadly, since that time Walmart has phased out most of their craft section except for small kits. Leaving me with nowhere local to replace the achor threads as they ran out. 

I have since then switched to dmc which is more available here. However, I refuse to mix the two brands so I’m stuck with having to find places to order anchor threads online and wait for them to come… 

hence good old Chris Cringle is gonna have to wait to have this part of his face completed.


I was getting very discourage about halfway through the “face page” because the confetti stitches were just insane. And the picture doesn’t do justice to how many “whites” there are in the fur band of his hat. White, off-white, pale pink and blue, shades of grey and green. It was endless…

But I couldn’t be happier with the way it is turning out.

I am one of those lucky people that have a bit of time to stitch at home but I work night shifts which are very slow so I tend to get much more done while “working” than I do at home.

I have one more column of 11 stitches before I have finally come to the end of this first row of pages. Only the very bottom of these last pages does it start to get back into the picture details so I’m going to work my way down through them all at once. 

I hope everyone had a great Easter and plenty of time to stitch and spend with family!!!

I’ve been taking a look at the page updates and everyone’s work is moving along so quickly. 

These are a great group of stitchers so head over and check out their progress and other work since the last update. There’s always something to get your imagination going or maybe even something you would like to try yourself. 

I’m doing this update from my phone which hates hyperlinks so it may not work. I will fix this when I get back to my computer😁
Avis,Claire, Gun, Carole, LucyAnn, Kate, Jess, Sue, Constanze, Debbierose, Christina, Susan, Kathy, Margaret, Cindy, Helen, Steph, Linda, Catherine, Wendy, Mary Margaret, Timothy

14 thoughts on “SAL Update!!!

  1. claire93 says:

    it’s looking great Timothy! I agree with you about not mixing different brand threads in the same project, because while conversions are usually pretty good, you can never be 100% sure. I’m a DMC stitcher myself, and always order on-line a) because it’s cheaper and b) because we live in the countryside with no craft shops in the vicinity.

    Like

  2. lucyannluna says:

    Looks fantastic, great progress. I think I’ve read/seen some where ( not sure where) that Anchor are being taken over. So it might be worth tracking down some extras while you can.

    Like

  3. Lovely work, and definitely agree wtih you about not mixing DMC and anchor in projects! Good luck finding the threads you need 🙂

    Like

  4. kathyreeves says:

    You are cruising through this Timothy! I remember weeks when I had nothing but skype meetings, and it was amazing how much stitching I got done, and listened more attentively to boot! Hope your anchor threads come soon!

    Like

  5. I feel your pain with confetti stitches! It’s coming on so well! Finished in no time!

    Like

  6. rutigt says:

    Great progress! I also don´t mix different brand threads in one embroidery! Just one exception: my #1yearofstitches project. In this embroidery I´m using threads that are leftovers from a lot of embroideries!

    Like

  7. katechiconi says:

    I agree you can’t mix brands, the colour matches are close but not exact. I find to my annoyance that my two favourite craft shops stock different brands, so if one runs out of a colour I’m using, I have to wait and order it, instead of going to the other shop. Grrr. Like you, I have patience issues… Santa is looking magnificent, though, all that detail on the fur is totally worth it.

    Like

  8. Sorry to hear you ran out of threads. I know how annoying it can be. I buy most of my threads on Ebay and the rest at sewandso.co.uk. The shipping would be more expensive for you but the saving on the price of items might make it worthwhile if you are buying several things at once. Your project is progressing really well and I’m sure all the “whites” are worth it.

    Like

  9. You are making excellent progress. I prefer DMC to Anchor, but they really are quite different so it would not do to mix them. They say patience is a virtue, but I know it can be hard to be virtues.

    Like

  10. craftycreeky says:

    Looks amazing! I do a fair bit on nights too 🙂

    Like

  11. Cindy says:

    You are making great progress. I also prefer DMC to Anchor but I know you can use them together. I have a couple of Silver Lining charts started and Marc uses both DMC and Anchor in his charts for shading on the flowers.

    Like

  12. Catherine says:

    Good luck finding your threads – I know all too well how frustrating that is, and am quite besides myself that I don’t have anywhere local! This is coming along very well and quickly. I’m sure now you are over the frustration of the face you will cruise along. I’m a tad jealous that you can stitch at work though!

    Like

  13. Carole says:

    So much detail – I can only imagine the confetti. Definitely worth it though as it’s looking amazing 🙂

    Like

  14. magpiesue says:

    I am just amazed that you’d even undertake a project like this. But then, that type of project seems to be what floats your boat! I always find “confetti stitches” a pain (what a great term for them!) so I look for projects with as few as possible. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

